crop happens…

Saturday

= grocery shopping day. My favorite part of the week. NOT! Ever notice that you always come home with about 20 bags, even though you only bought about 43 items? I think there’s some kind of no-more-than-3-items-per-bag rule, and that seems to be the ONLY rule, because it seems to be perfectly OK to put a loaf of bread into a bag and then squish it with a jar of pickles. A bag of chips with a 2-liter bottle of soda? That’s exactly why I bag myself. And I get the strangest looks and comments. “Are you sure?” No, I was kidding, go ahead and bag for me. And please don’t forget to bag my cleaning products with the deli items. I’m trying to see if the window cleaner will leak all over my sliced turkey! Or I will get the “Ohhh!! YOU’RE the lady who always bags herself!” Hmm… will they ask for my autograph soon? LOL

Maybe I should tell those poor baggers to pay close attention because I can cut those 20 bags down to about 5! I prefer paper, too… double bag the heavy items, like cans/jars/bottles and bag them all together. Same with refrigerated/frozen items, and boxes.  It’s all common sense….. right? Or maybe I’m too organized and it borders on just plain weird? (Maybe you shouldn’t answer that….)

012-shoppingday.jpg

7 responses

  1. dalia

    that was good for a morning laugh!!! I prefer to bag my own too, honestly I prefer to check out myself. I hate it when the checkers examine what I bought and look at me like I am buying green cheese.
    I see we are making the same thing this weekend 🙂

    12. January, 2008 at 06:44

  2. thedailyclick

    I hate checking out myself!!! Something always goes wrong with those darn things!! Besides, our grocery store doesn’t have paper bags at the self-checkouts. LOL
    You’re digging out your crockpot, too? How funny! (Great minds.. 😉 ) I have it on the menu for Monday/Tuesday. Pizza night tomorrow. Going to post the recipe on Monday!

    12. January, 2008 at 06:48

  3. thedailyclick

    Oh yeah…. good to know I’m not the only one who sends the baggers away!

    12. January, 2008 at 06:49

  4. photographybycheryl

    too funny and great minds think a like cause the shopping list was on my pic list… I don’t have a crockpot but I’ve heard so much about them…maybe I should try one. I read a good mac and cheese recipe for one…

    PS-don’t expect my pic until later in the day…. GO PACKERS!

    12. January, 2008 at 08:30

  5. doreen3boys

    LOL, oh so true!! We have the opposite here of filling bags too heavy, I about fell on the ground the day after picking up a bag the kid filled, lol! I go so infrequently to the grocery store that no one that has a clue who I am, I’m lady who must visit someone every other month or so, lol! LOVE my crockpot………have a roast ready to go too!!! Can’t wait to see your recipe………mine is simple…….packet of italian dressing mixed with 1 cup water. Slice thin, perfect for roast beef sandwiches!!

    12. January, 2008 at 08:47

  6. melaniereyesphotography

    we have a store now where you scan and bag items as you walk around, super clever! except for dorks like me that can’t even organize bagging her groceries – I always scan everything throw it in the cart and then go to the regular line (which you should bypass with this system) and I get htere and the cashier is always like … you’ve rung everything up already? What do you want me to do? I smile really big and say, BAG IT PLEASE. lmbo.
    I usually have 3 screaming kids at that point so sometimes the smile is missing, lol.

    12. January, 2008 at 19:40

  7. thedailyclick

    Melanie, that is HILARIOUS!!!!!
    One of the grocery stores here used to do the same thing, but they don’t anymore. Don’t know why…. maybe it didn’t catch on?
    (And how funny, I just left a comment on your blog the exact moment you commented here!)

    12. January, 2008 at 19:44

Leave a Reply

