crop happens…

Out with the old… in with the new

The UPS man dropped off a new monitor last week…. well, two. One for Greg and one for me.  Got them both assembled as soon as I got them out of the box and then waited for Greg to come home from work, to hook them up. No problems with Greg’s, but mine was a whole different story.  I was soo disappointed at first because nothing looked right! Not just the colors/brightness/contrast, but the picture itself. Everything was stretched sideways and my sun logo looked like someone sat on it. Nothing we did fixed the problem. Oh, and I should mention that during installation something killed my USB and both the keyboard and mouse weren’t working. Thankfully Greg was able to fix that, but that still left me with a really awful picture. I was ready to take the new monitor back and use my old one again.

Greg thought the problem was with my video card and he stopped after work on Friday and picked up a new one. After a few more headaches, killing the USB again, and being on the verge of getting a whole new computer, Greg finally got the monitor working! I was sooo relieved!! I wouldn’t mind replacing my dinosaur, but on the other hand I really don’t want to start from scratch and reinstalling and copying everything to a new computer… and I’m sure this will come back and bite me in the @$$ when it’s time to really get me a new one. I can hear Greg now “but you said…” (right, honey? 😉 )

A big THANK YOU goes out to Treva for spending two days helping me get the colors, etc. adjusted, and a big THANK YOU to Dalia, for helping me out as well. Still not really sure if I have it right, so if my edits look even worse than they did before, it’s the monitor. And please don’t be afraid to let me know!!

Anyway… here it is… my brand-spanking new 19-inch LCD monitor.

021-newmonitor.jpg

9 responses

  1. doreen3boys

    That thing is HUGE!!!!!! So pretty! Keeping my fingers crossed everything stays ok……what a lucky girl you are!! And your story is our story EVERY time we get something……..so frustrating!

    21. January, 2008 at 08:17

  2. dalia

    That is nice looking monitor!!!! What a relief to not have everything stretched out anymore!!!I think the color on the pictures is good. Let me know what I can do to help!!!

    21. January, 2008 at 08:53

  3. photographybycheryl

    Congrats on the new monitor…I want so badly…but I will just have to wait…. If you need anymore help…let me know….we are an IT family here…Shawn is constantly setting up new systems/hardware for people…. Enjoy it!

    21. January, 2008 at 10:11

  4. thedailyclick

    It IS huge! I think my old one was 17″ and I would have been perfectly happy with another one in that size, except that there aren’t manty LCD’s smaller than 19″!! And no way did I want anything bigger than that.
    We got a good deal on them at Best Buy. They’re still on sale this week, too! We did have to order online because none of the stores within reasonable (and even unreasonable) driving distance had them in stock.
    Dalia and Cheryl, thanks for the offer to help 🙂

    21. January, 2008 at 10:39

  5. melaniereyesphotography

    congrats!!!! why wouldn’t you have wanted a bigger one? Mine’s a 27″ and I just love it to pieces!!!
    sorry it was such a hassle but looks fabulous now!

    22. January, 2008 at 05:57

  6. thedailyclick

    Melanie, your computer monitor is 27″???!!! That’s as big as our TV (and bigger than that TV we have in the bedroom!!!!) Wow! That’s just a little too big for me, and I don’t think I could fit it in my desk anyway… you can see in the picture that there are shelves on either side of the monitor.

    22. January, 2008 at 06:13

  7. I have monitor envy, Melanie. LOL.
    Hey, no problem. I didn’t do anything. Glad it’s working great now.

    22. January, 2008 at 22:18

  8. Hubby

    What don’t I get a big thank you?

    23. January, 2008 at 11:31

  9. thedailyclick

    Thank you, honey!
    (Could have sworn I already thanked you 😉 )

    23. January, 2008 at 12:36

Leave a Reply

