crop happens…

Mommy, can I check the CoinStar?

I hear this question ALL the time when we go to a store that has a CoinStar machine. The grocery store has one right near the entrance and the kids are almost knocking each other to the ground, trying to make it there before the other one. Sara usually checks the bottom where the reject coins end up, and underneath the machine, and Melissa checks the top, where you pour in your change. More times than not, they find something. They also check the ground wherever we go, and check around the cash registers, public phones, gumball machines, and anywhere else with the slightest chance that there could be any money. Just a little bit obsessed?

Now the problem is that Melissa finds most of the money.. she knows exactly where to look, and she can run faster than Sara. When Sara finds something she will share it with Melissa most of the time, or even if she only finds one coin, she will give it to her. Melissa on the other hand does NOT share even if she found a handful of change, and that really disappoints Sara. So I came up with a solution… this piggy bank. Whatever money they find goes in the piggy bank and when it’s full we will roll up the coins and they will split the money 50/50 and spend it on whatever they want (want to bet it’s going to be Petshops? LOL)

And yes, I take the time to roll the coins. I don’t use those CoinStar machines and give away 8 or 9% in fees!

piggybank.jpg

8 responses

  1. photographybycheryl

    What an adorable piggy bank!! I really love it! LOL about them running and trying to beat each other. I think you came up with a great solution…less fights for sure. We keep a jar in our kitchen for misc. change and we usually cash it in before a trip to the indoor waterpark and the kids use that money as arcade money. (We add to it if we have to but we had over $150 when we went away in Dec. which was more than enough….that covered some ice cream too!)

    As for CoinStar…8 or 9 % that’s crazy….I would roll it up too…I just take our change to the bank, they dump it in their machine for free!

    30. January, 2008 at 07:47

  2. thedailyclick

    Glad you like the piggy bank. I painted the flowers on there myself. Just bought a plain white one at Michaels – it’s the biggest size they have – and used a stencil for the flowers.
    Yes.. our old bank (Credit Union) had a machine, too, and they only charged a 1% fee.
    Melissa gets an allowance now (if she does her chores!!) and Greg saves all the quarters and dimes in a container and we cash that in before a vacation or trip, and then he gives Sara the pennies and nickels for her bank.
    I actually USE my change when I shop.

    30. January, 2008 at 07:53

  3. dalia

    that is a very funny story! My brother was really good at finding all the loose change too!!! I should take pics of our piggy banks. My kids got fancy decorated ones when they were born. Max’s is almost full!
    Gorgeous job decorating the piggy M!!!

    30. January, 2008 at 07:58

  4. thedailyclick

    Yes! I want to see the piggy banks!!!
    That reminds me… I got the boys some piggy banks for Christmas one year (with cash inside) and I let Melissa paint them. She had so much fun! When they were done, they looked kind of like Sara’s pumpkin last Halloween, with all kinds of colors painted all over them.

    30. January, 2008 at 08:03

  5. doreen3boys

    And your a painter too!! So cute and a great story to go along with it!! That is crazy about the 8-9%, our bank, Commerce is free as well. What a problem solver you, great solution!

    30. January, 2008 at 08:27

  6. thedailyclick

    Thanks!
    No, I’m not a painter. I could never do that without the stencil!!

    30. January, 2008 at 08:54

  7. Great idea! Cha-ching!

    30. January, 2008 at 18:37

  8. Les

    Your kids need to check a fourth place: inside the machine itself! This obviously requires some explanation. Sometimes when the CoinStar is used, there are coins that go in, but aren’t counted, because they get hung up inside the chute. I haven’t seen the insides of them to know exactly how this happens, but I have been able to ‘extract’ the leftovers, anywhere up to over $10 one time! It’s worth picking up the sieve forcefully, then dropping it down. If you hear the sounds of coins falling inside the machine, you have a winner!

    10. February, 2008 at 21:01

Leave a Reply

