crop happens…

Got Scissors?

We took the kids for hair cuts yesterday…. Sara’s very first official hair cut 😦 I’ve trimmed her bangs myself quite a few times, and I’m sure some of you remember the time she cut her bangs herself, but the back has never been cut. Until now.  I really didn’t want to, but it was time. Of course there was no way I would let those curls fall to the floor, be swept up and thrown into the trash!!! Nope, I brought a  rubber band and tied it into her hair before the stylist cut it, and I’m going to save that curly little pony tail in her keepsake box. I didn’t even cry when the stylist cut the curls off (aren’t you proud of me?) and she looks so cute with the shorter – but still long – hair. In a way she looks so little, and so grown up at the same time. She did really well, too. Sat in the chair and held still, her cheeks all flushed. So cute!

Melissa was a whole other story. She got quite a bit cut off, but thankfully her stylist (if you can call her that!!!) didn’t cut as much off as I showed her. I told her that I wanted long layers that blend. Shouldn’t be too difficult if you went to beauty school and learned how to cut hair, right? Well, she must have bought her diploma at K-Mart on clearance or something because she hacked the h*ll out of her hair! I seriously wanted to cry… and then take those scissors away from her and stab her with them. It looked awful. Sara did a better job on her bangs when she cut them herself. I am not kidding!! I said something to her, that it looks all chopped and I wanted the layers nice and smooth and to my luck the store manager was cutting a little boy’s hair right behind her and came over and showed her how to do it. Had her cut the length off and then told her to get him before she cut the layers. She did, and he showed her in detail how to do it, and cut about half of it himself and then gave the scissors back to her. She did OK at first and then she started hacking away at it again and as soon as I realized, I made her stop and the manager came back and fixed it as well as he could.  It ended up looking OK, thanks to the manager. Hope he fires that woman the very next time she messes up! One thing is for sure… she’s NOT cutting our hair again and I’ll specifically ask for someone else even if we have to wait for two hours!

So… here’s the before & after pictures…

040-sarabeforeafter.jpg

040-melissabeforeafter.jpg

7 responses

  1. melaniereyesphotography

    WOw they look great, now let’s see the front 😛

    9. February, 2008 at 10:06

  2. dalia

    WOOHOO I am so proud of you!!! I know it was hard but it looks GREAT!!!! And think of how much easier it will be to wash. I am glad you saved the ponytail!
    What a crazy “stylist”. OMG!!!! Stay far away!!! I got my hair cut. I’ll show mine if you show yours! 😉

    9. February, 2008 at 10:34

  3. photographybycheryl

    I wanna see… I wanna see… I need a hair cut too…. What a nightmare about that “stylist”. I agree….hope she was fired…. The girls look great though. I am amazed at how long the Sara’s hair is…I wonder if Syd will ever get long hair…

    9. February, 2008 at 11:04

  4. doreen3boys

    I can’t believe how long their hair is, esp Sara’s!!! Wow, you must have some patience to put up with the incompetent stylist. Glad it all worked out, they’re beautiful! But yeah, where’s the front pic?

    9. February, 2008 at 12:19

  5. Aaak! I don’t think I could stand someone hacking her hair. I’d love to see you too Michaela. Is your hair still super long? And now let’s see the front of the girls too.

    They still have very long hair. What do they think?

    9. February, 2008 at 14:39

  6. thedailyclick

    ME??? Ha ha, I don’t want to break my camera 😉 Pictures of the front will follow soon, I promise.
    Anjeanette, my hair hasn’t been that long in a looong time! It’s barely touching my shoulders.

    9. February, 2008 at 14:47

  7. The haircuts look nice even if the curls are gone. I’m proud of you for not crying.

    11. February, 2008 at 11:08

Leave a Reply

