crop happens…

Tornado Alley

On a scale from 1-10, how much fun is it to wake up to tornado sirens going off at 4:00 am? MINUS 98345!!!

Actually, I was already awake. I woke up a few minutes before that to thunder and lightning and when I looked at the alarm clock, I was kind of glad to see that it was already almost 4 am (after spending most of the previous night wide awake because of thunderstorms). Then the tornado siren goes off. We live about 1/2 mile away from it so we heard it loud and clear. I wake up Greg and run through Melissa’s room into Sara’s room, wrap her in her blanket, scoop her up and run back through Melissa’s room to get her up… she was already out of bed, and we all run into the dining room, where Greg had pushed the table against the wall. Yes, the dining table is our (probably not very effective) tornado shelter. Smack in the center of the house. Best we got. We have no basement, no closets along an inside wall, and the bath tub is along an outside wall as well. So I think the table is our best bet, and it’s just big enough for the four of us to camp out under there. So we did. And, since we have a nice view of the TV, I crawled out from under the table to grab the remote so we could see what’s going on outside. I HATE not knowing what’s going on during a severe storm. We were right in the middle of it, but thankfully it was a fast-moving storm. The weather guy mentioned all the counties under a tornado warning and said “….seek shelter immediately… go to the lowest part of the house… turn the TV off…”  Turn the TV off?? Is he crazy? No way was I going to turn the TV off, I wanted to know exactly where that storm was!! The sirens stopped after a few minutes, but because we were still in the middle of the storm, and it wasn’t quite 4:16 am yet (the time, the storm was supposed to reach our town) we decided to stay under the table, and sure enough, the sirens started again. It was scary. Lots of wind, thunder and lightning, pouring rain. Poor Melissa was the most scared out of all of us. Thankfully the sirens stopped again after a few seemingly endless minutes, and a few minutes after the weather guy said that the tornado warnings were expired, we crawled back out of our little shelter. I wanted to send the kids back to bed.. today is a school day after all… and told them they could lay down in our bed. I knew I wasn’t going back to sleep, but I went to lay down with them for a little while, and so did Greg. Then he made the mistake of announcing he was hungry, and asking who wanted French toast for breakfast, which meant that the kids wouldn’t go back to sleep either!! Ugh! So we were all up, and Greg was in the kitchen, cooking breakfast before 5 am. It’s going to be a looong day, but at least we’re all OK and we still have a roof over our heads.

Today’s picture – actually taken today!! – is of our shelter.  The girls crawled back under there for demonstration purposes.

8 responses

  1. dalia

    CRAP_OLA!!!!! How scary!!! I am so glad you are safe!!!
    Love your shelter too!!!
    How was breakfast?

    10. April, 2008 at 05:36

  2. doreen3boys

    OMG, I could NOT imagine. My eyes were swelling up reading that. OMG, that’s terrible. I’ve never experienced any like that, wow, my heart goes out to you guys, esp the children. How terrible. I’m glad to hear everything is ok. How often does this happen a year?

    10. April, 2008 at 05:37

  3. doreen3boys

    OMG, I could NOT imagine. My eyes were swelling up reading that. OMG, that’s terrible. I’ve never experienced any like that, wow, my heart goes out to you guys, esp the children. How terrible. I’m glad to hear everything is ok. How often does this happen a year? And UGH at 5am, you poor thing!

    10. April, 2008 at 05:37

  4. Breakfast was delicious!
    Doreen, the sirens went off at 4am. We’ve been in TX for a little over 10 years and I don’t remember hearing sirens in the first town we lived in (but I’m not sure where they were), I remember them once in the four years we’ve lived in Dallas, and three times since moving to this town four years ago, but I think that was all within the last two years. One actually touched down last year or the year before, I can’t remember. And there was a bad one that touched down in 1985 I think? That one was less than a mile from our house! Glad we didn’t live here then!!

    10. April, 2008 at 05:47

  5. Oh my! Glad you are all safe. As I was reading your post, I started thinking, “and she had the presence of mind to not just grab her camera but shoot a great journalistic photo too??” Me, I’d probably grab my iPod and just start listening to music to drown out the sirens.

    Then I saw later on that it was a re-enactment.

    And now I want some French toast.

    I’ve never lived anywhere where there is a real possibility of a tornado touching ground. I can’t imagine what last night/early morning was for you. Hope you get some sleep soon!

    10. April, 2008 at 06:58

  6. Ivory, I didn’t think about the camera until after we crawled under the table, but I was too chicken to run and grab it off my desk to keep it safe.
    When we’ve had bad storms with a possibility of tornadoes before, I’ve packed up all my camera stuff in my camera bag, along with the photo CDs from the last few years and stuffed it all under my bed, hoping it would be safe… but this time it never even occured to me. Just grab the kids and hide. We’ve always had more warning than this, though.

    10. April, 2008 at 07:14

  7. photographybycheryl

    Oh my gosh Michaela, how scary is that… I am so glad you are all safe. Did Melissa go to school today? Maybe you guys can take a nap later…you poor things, safe but exhausted! I hope all the rain/storms end soon.

    10. April, 2008 at 07:45

  8. Cheryl, yes, she went to school today. Greg told me a few minutes ago that she was so scared under the table, she was shaking and her teeth were chattering 😦 Sara just had fun “camping out”, but I don’t think she really knows what a tornado really is. A nap is out for me, I can’t sleep during the day.
    All seems quiet at the moment… still cloudy, but no rain. Nothing on the radar either (I keep checking LOL)

    10. April, 2008 at 07:55

Leave a Reply

