crop happens…

What May I Serve You for Dinner Tonight?

These vegetable soups are reserved especially for Melissa. As punishment. Why, you wonder? Because she hates taking showers and will do anything and everything to avoid them. But, she knows mom and dad won’t let her get away with that, so she waits until 5:30 pm (which is dinner time in this house) to get in the shower… taking  f o r e v e r  to a) get into the shower, b) take a shower, and c) get dressed, hair brushed, etc. Which, of course leads to her not eating dinner with the rest of us and her dinner getting cold.

Sooo…. new rules for Miss I-don’t-wanna-take-a-shower: 1) No more having to be reminded to take a shower and 2) Don’t wait until it’s dinner time. You ignore one or both of these rules and you get vegetable soup for dinner.

I thought that she hated vegetable soup even more than showers, but out of the three cans that I bought, there is now only one can left. She only ate part of the other two cans, though. Sat at the dinner table until it was time to get ready for bed.

8 responses

  1. plainmama

    I love your creative parenting. This is something I would come up with to give incentive or consequence or ANYTHING to get the ball rolling! One of 2 things will either happen 1. She hates the soup even more and her showers will begin to occur earlier or 2. She will start LOVING that soup and you will have to get creative again. Hope it is the former.

    27. April, 2008 at 05:27

  2. She’s neither! She still hates showers and she hates vegetables. LOL

    27. April, 2008 at 05:45

  3. doreen3boys

    LOL, that is some creative punishment!! I think this is a battle of the wills……..hmm, I wonder who will win??? If I was a betting woman, all my money would be on you, lol!! You might have to start buying that soup in bulk, lol! Good luck!

    27. April, 2008 at 08:22

  4. dalia

    LMAO!!!! very creative! I wonder if/when she will “get”it.

    27. April, 2008 at 10:45

  5. dalia

    Got any ideas on how to get Max to brush his teeth?

    27. April, 2008 at 10:48

  6. Doreen, you bet I’M going to win this one!! And if she starts liking the soup, I’m going to serve her plain cooked vegetables. Desn’t even matter which kind because she hates all cooked vegetables.

    Dalia, LOL. I usuallytake something away… like snacks, video games, computer time, or whatever they want the most at the time.

    27. April, 2008 at 11:47

  7. photographybycheryl

    oh Michaeala, we’ve all been in this position… I love this idea. We use horseradish as a punishment…a little on a spoon…cause they HATE it… but it won’t harm them…so…perfect punishment….. good luck…keep us informed

    28. April, 2008 at 06:59

  8. Anjeanette

    Oh you are too funny. This would be punnishment for me. I can’t stand canned soup, particularly tomato or veggie soup. Give me fresh any day and I’m in heaven. I think even opening the can would make me gagggggggg!!

    Good luck and I think you may need to buy them in bulk;)

    28. April, 2008 at 09:55

Leave a Reply

