crop happens…

Mayhaw Jelly

Found at Woody’s Smokehouse (“The jerky capital of the world” – according to Woody’s Smokehouse I’m sure) on one of our trips to Galveston. I had never heard of it before and decided to try it. Tastes pretty good! They have some really delicious peach butter, too, among about 100 other different types of jellies, butters, pie fillings, etc. Greg of course couldn’t resist their jerky. Another excuse (in addition to crabs) to make a trip to Galveston or Kemah.

5 responses

  1. doreen3boys

    Hmmm, very interesting, lol!! Can’t say I ‘ve heard of any of it, lol! Cool pic!

    BTW……….I just posted the prom pics link if you’re interested!

    7. May, 2008 at 06:04

  2. photographybycheryl

    I have never heard of this either… but hey, if you like it…then go for it!!!! Maybe this is another reason why I should convince Shawn that we need to go to Texas…!!!!

    7. May, 2008 at 08:17

  3. plainmama

    What do you put this on?

    Love your perspective on the jar!

    7. May, 2008 at 09:19

  4. Doreen, going to check out the pics as soon as I get a chance! 🙂
    Cheryl, I don’t know if it’s a good enough reason, but hey, whatever works! LOL
    Amy, I just spread it on a slice of bread. Also found a recipe for mayhaw jelly layer cake (haven’t tried it yet), it’s basically yellow cake mix and you divide the batter between six baking pans to bake, and spread the jelly between the layers and over the top of the cake. I bet it’s good with other jelly, too.

    7. May, 2008 at 09:31

  5. LOLOL…we’ve stopped at Woody’s on our way down to Galveston too! I’ve never bought anything but jerky there though.

    18. May, 2008 at 17:50

Leave a Reply

