crop happens…

2010/138: Bonus: Birthday Lunch

I met with a friend for a very belated Birthday lunch today. I met Claudia at the gym sometime last fall, when I walked in shortly after her and someone at the front desk mentioned to me that she was from Germany, too. He also mentioned to Claudia that I was from Germany (well, close enough anyway) and we bumped into each other (not literally) a while later and introduced ourselves.
We ran into each other from time to time and chatted for a few minutes each time. When we found out that we’re the same age, AND our birthdays are only within about two weeks of each other (I’m the older one πŸ˜› ), we decided to celebrate together when the weather was warmer. Unfortunately sick kids, vacations, bad weather, and busy schedules prevented us from meeting up… until today! And I have to say that we picked the perfect day, because it was just beautiful outside, and we did ask for a table outside.
We met at the restaurant at 11:30 am and didn’t leave until 2:10pm, when we hadΒ to go because it was time to pick up the kids. We probably could have sat there all day otherwise πŸ™‚

 

13 responses

  1. Thanks for making me hungry. Those are wonderful food shots. All natural lighting? It’s great!

    18. May, 2010 at 16:30

    • Thank you! Yes, all natural light….. and this is making me hungry, too. Every time I look at it!! It was really good.

      18. May, 2010 at 16:32

  2. It sounds like the start of a great friendship, and of many hours of talking to come. The food photos looks perfect. Very good light and focus.

    18. May, 2010 at 16:36

  3. How fun! I thought you weren’t having this lunch until tomorrow? The food and drink looks so yummy! It is good to connect with a girlfriend every now and then… I need to do that more often. Happy belated birthday!! πŸ™‚

    18. May, 2010 at 17:18

    • It WAS supposed to be tomorrow… last minute change of plans πŸ™‚

      In case anyone wants to know… there were chips & salsa (I didn’t eat that many, not a big fan), margaritas (frozen for me, on the rocks for Claudia), and we both had the salmon salad, just different salad dressing. You can even see it on the picture of the menu.

      18. May, 2010 at 17:23

  4. That looks SO good.

    18. May, 2010 at 18:10

  5. The food looks really scrumptious and so does the drink, too. How nice that you guys were able to get together and just sit and enjoy the day and enjoy each other’s company. Sounds like a perfect birthday celebration to me…. Happy Belated Birthday too!!!

    18. May, 2010 at 21:23

  6. It is a nice story. I hope you will enjoy and enhance your new friendship. Congratulations.
    —Three hours until lunch. I hope time will fly!

    19. May, 2010 at 01:40

  7. doreen3boys

    As soon as I read Claudia, I instantly thought she was German and you’d hit it off………too funny! Sounds like the perfect way to spend an afternoon sans kids (and husband πŸ˜‰ )

    19. May, 2010 at 08:34

  8. So yummy looking! And you have one of my favorite drinks there. I love margaritas, just about anyway they make ’em, and have a bit of a reputation for making quite a tasty one!

    Gee maybe we should have a Scott Thomas/Kanniduba community blogger meet-up some time and have margaritas! LOL πŸ˜‰

    19. May, 2010 at 16:21

    • It’s one of my favorite drinks, too! I was tempted to order a second one, but I DID have to drive home.
      That meet-up sounds like fun! The “Halfhour Daily Karma Views” meet-up. WITH margaritas! I’m in! πŸ˜‰

      19. May, 2010 at 18:41

  9. dalia

    that sounds lovely!!

    20. May, 2010 at 17:49

Leave a Reply

