crop happens…

2011/362: Christmas Surprise

The girls each had one big gift under the tree this year. Melissa’s was a keyboard, which she knew about, because she was with us when we bought it, and Sara got a new camera. She had been using my old point & shoot, and she loved taking pictures with Melissa’s Nikon D70s a few months ago, so Santa thought a new camera was perfect for her this year.
Sara opened the new camera bag first, and I’m sure she was wondering what she needed a new camera bag for, when she already had one. Then she reached for the camera… tore the paper off, and at first she thought it was a box of puzzles. Then she realized what it really was….

16 responses

  1. What a wonderful expression you caught! 🙂

    28. December, 2011 at 07:33

  2. Woohoo! How many pictures has she taken so far?

    28. December, 2011 at 07:45

    • Hmm… not sure… probably about 50 or so. Of course the first thing she did, was put batteries and a memory card in, and try it out. AND she took ot to her aunt & uncle’s house on Christmas Day.

      28. December, 2011 at 08:30

  3. Great picture! I love the look on her face! I see it says “Kodak” on the box; would you be willing to tell me a little about it? I’m looking at a waterproof Kodak easy-share for our cruise, and wondering if the quality is decent.

    28. December, 2011 at 08:12

    • Karen, she has the Kodak Easyshare Max Z990. Quality seems pretty good. It’s a 12MP and takes HD video, but it’s not waterproof.
      Santa chose it because it’s one of the few (reasonably priced) point & shoots with a viewfinder, and not just the LCD screen.

      28. December, 2011 at 08:28

      • Cool, thank you – and they take SD memory cards, right?

        28. December, 2011 at 08:34

  4. Katie

    What a happy little girl! I think I was about the same age when I got my first Kodak, but that was back in the days when it was all film and we had to use those bulky flash cubes! Oh, she’s gonna have such fun!

    28. December, 2011 at 09:20

    • I think I was in my early 20’s when I got my first NEW camera. My dad always used to give me his old cameras when he bought a new one… which was just fine with me 🙂
      I remember those flash cubes, or the vertical flashes!

      Just yesterday, Melissa was going through some things in her desk and found some negatives from when she had a film camera, and Sara came running, asking “what’s a negative?”…… Nothing like feeling old when you’re only 15! LOL

      28. December, 2011 at 09:41

  5. aww, this pic is priceless 🙂

    28. December, 2011 at 18:19

  6. Every girl’s first camera should be a Kodak… mine was. 🙂

    28. December, 2011 at 19:17

  7. Love her expression!

    29. December, 2011 at 05:25

  8. What a great moment! Seeing the look on your child’s face when they realize that they got something so exciting is what makes Christmas magical for the parents!!

    29. December, 2011 at 19:38

  9. Great photo of her! I will bet that camera will be a very big thing for her!

    30. December, 2011 at 14:56

  10. Her expression is priceless. You should send that to Kodak. 🙂

    Looks like her camera is similar to mine. Kodak makes some nice point & shoots.

    30. December, 2011 at 16:39

Leave a Reply

