crop happens…

2012/251: Christmas Rear Range Light

You would think lighthouses are easy to find, right? Wrong! We almost didn’t find Christmas Rear Range Light, even with directions! They even seemed like easy directions: Drive M-28 west, between Munising and Christmas near the “Welcome to Christmas” sign.
As you saw in yesterday’s post, we found the “Welcome to Christmas” sign, parked, and walked towards the lake. We had to walk through loose sand, with plenty of broken glass everywhere (not a great idea with flip-flops) and about half way there, I told everyone to stay where they were while I went to take a look (I was ahead of everyone else). All I could see was some kind of strange white pillar with an oversized lightbulb at the top, which was actually the Christmas Front Range Light. If you clicked the link, you’ll agree that it’s not exactly pretty or even lighthouse-looking. The travel brochure with those wonderful directions showed a picture of the Rear Range Light, and I knew this was definitely not it!! And there was no sign of another lighthouse anywhere!
Back to the car we went, and just as I closed the door, buckled up, and Greg was about to back out of our little parking space, I glance in the side mirror and say “Ummm…what’s behind us??” Yup! There it was…on the other side of the road, hidden in the trees!

Of course we got out of the car, crossed the street, and went to take a close look.

8 responses

  1. Lol! Good thing you found it, love the side mirror shot. Are you always ahead of your family? I am, they all walk so painfully slow, like they are enjoying the moment or something. I’ve places to go! Photos to shoot! Come along people!

    7. September, 2012 at 05:52

    • Thanks, Becky!
      It depends….sometimes I’m ahead of everyone else, and sometimes (when I’ve found something to photograph) they have to wait for me. They ditched me once this vacation and I had to send Greg a text to ask where the h*ll they went LOL. Might have blogged about it (scheduled…coming up), I can’t remember.

      7. September, 2012 at 05:57

  2. doreen3boys

    haha, thats funny!!Glad you found it. How many lighthouses did you climb? Are most of the still being used?

    I am ALWAYS behind, George walks sooo fast.

    7. September, 2012 at 06:07

    • Saw 18 Lighthoses this trip, but only went inside a few of them. Most are still in use, and there was one that we could tour, but we couldn’t go all the way up because it was still an active lighthouse.

      7. September, 2012 at 06:19

  3. I love lighthouses! you should do a lighthouse book!!

    10. September, 2012 at 13:10

    • Thanks, Dalia! I actually did one last year, as a gift for my friend in Germany 🙂

      10. September, 2012 at 13:11

  4. Have you ever tried to contact a publisher? How cool would that be!!

    10. September, 2012 at 13:19

Leave a Reply

