crop happens…

It’s What’s For Dinner

I thought I’d play along with Karen’s A Week Of Dinner blog-along, although I won’t have pictures of a whole week’s worth of dinners to share, because 1) I hate cooking!! Yup! I wish dinner would just make itself. 2) Most dinners I make just aren’t all that photogenic, and 3) When dinner is ready, I’d rather sit down to eat, than take pictures and have it go cold…cos you know, I never stop at just one picture and have to get different angles and such, to make sure I hopefully end up with something I like 😉

First dinner is Southern Pork BBQ On Buns, made in the crock pot (aka slow cooker). Found the recipe in a magazine years ago, and will include it below..
2013-003 1

Southern Pork BBQ on Buns
3 1/2 lbs boneless pork shoulder roast, cut into 2 1/2-inch chunks, trimmed of visible fat
2/3 cup + 2 Tbsp cider vinegar
1/4 cup grated onion
2 tsp minced garlic
4 tsp hot-pepper sauce
1 1/2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
1/2 tsp each salt and pepper
1 cup of your favorite bottled barbecue sauce (we use K.C. Masterpiece Original)
8 Hamburger buns

In gallon-size zip top bag, combine pork, 2/3 cup vinegar, onion, garlic, 2 tsp hot-pepper sauce, Worcestershire Sauce, salt and pepper.
Seal bag. Refrigerate overnight or up to 24 hours; turn bag a few times.
Transfer pork and marinade to a slow cooker. Cover. Cook on low for 7-8 hours, until meat is fork tender.
Drain in colander over bowl, reserve 1/2 cup skimmed cooking liquid.
In a large bowl, using two forks, shred pork. Add reserved cooking liquid, barbecue sauce, and remaining vinegar and hot-pepper sauce until moistened.
Serve on hamburger buns with coleslaw on the side. Enjoy!

*****************************************************************************************

Next for dinner was Nordic Potato Soup With Ham, also made in the slow cooker. This recipe was in the cook book that came with our slow cooker, and I’ll include it below as well. I served it with fresh baked Italian Herb bead.
2013-003 Dinner 2

Nordic Potato Soup with Ham
3 medium-size thin-skinned potatoes (about 1 1/2 lbs total), peeled and diced
1 large onion, finely chopped
1 smoked ham hock (about 1 lb)
1 Tbsp dry dill weed
2 tsp grated lemon peel*
1/4 tsp ground white pepper*
2 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 Tbsp corn starch
1/2 cup whipping cream
Dill sprigs (optional)

In a 3-quart or larger electric slow cooker, combine potatoes, onion, ham hock, dill weed, lemon peel, white pepper and broth. Cover and cook on low until ham hock and potatoes are very tender when pierced (about 7 1/2 – 8 hours)
Lift out ham hock and let stand until cool enough to handle (we cut up the ham before hand and can skip this step)
Meanwhile, remove about 1 cup of the potatoes with a little of the broth, whirl in a blender or food processor until pureed. Return puree to slow cooker (or: use a fork to mash some of the potatoes against the side of the slow cooker to puree them)
In a small bowl, mix corn starch and cream; blend into potato mixture.
Increase cooker heat to high. Remove and discard fat and bone from ham, tear meat into bite-size pieces and stir into soup. Cover and cook, stirring 2-3 times, for 20 more minutes. Garnish with dill sprigs if desired. Enjoy! (Makes 4-6 servings)

20 responses

  1. I’m drooling from your BBQ pork… I love the sweet and spicy kind of BBQ sauce, and that goes so perfectly with pork! Sounds like an amazing comfort food dinner to me!

    15. January, 2013 at 22:31

    • Thank you! It’s definitely a favorite around here, even my kids (who are picky eaters) like it.

      16. January, 2013 at 05:01

      • That’s great! Unfortunately, my picky eater won’t eat BBQ sauce… It’s too sweet for him, so I rarely make anything with it at home. Bummer!

        16. January, 2013 at 11:14

  2. Ha! I hate to cook too! Stupid dinner. If it wasn’t for the other 3 people in my family I’d have cereal every night. Your photos are real purdy but I don’t eat pork or ham or much meat for that matter so they don’t help me with inspiration.

    16. January, 2013 at 06:17

    • Hmmm….how about a bowl of Green Chile Mac & Cheese then? 😉
      Will have to make that again soon, because it’s soo yummy (even if the kids don’t like it! Hahaha!). I’ll be sure to take a picture.
      I’m not a huge fan of meat either (you couldn’t pay me to eat a steak!) and much prefer chicken.
      Thanks Becky.

      16. January, 2013 at 06:47

  3. I love pulled pork too and do it in the crock pot often in the winter time. Summer time we do it on the grill. I will have to try the potato soup recipe – I love crock pot meals. Glad you decided to share some pictures of dinner.

    16. January, 2013 at 08:24

    • Thanks Karen. You’ll have to let me know how you like the potato soup when you try it.
      Do you use the crock-pot liners?? If not, you can find them with the foil, plastic wrap, etc. They make clean-up sooo much easier!

      16. January, 2013 at 08:53

  4. Both look mouth-watering good to me. I might have to dust off my crock pot and see what I can come up with. 🙂

    16. January, 2013 at 16:16

    • Thanks Robin. I’m making myself hungry just looking at them again….good thing we have some of that soup left for tonight! 🙂

      16. January, 2013 at 16:21

  5. These both look excellent and I’ll be doing both! Thanks so much for sharing…husband (meat eater that he is) will LOVE these! And I love crock pot meals for sure!

    16. January, 2013 at 20:40

  6. oh man… it’s late and now i’m hungry. lovely looking fare. 🙂 hey, not to change the subject or anything, but when you take photos with your ipad do you use an app or use the standard interface only? enjoy your weekend!

    18. January, 2013 at 23:49

    • Thanks KC.
      I don’t use my iPad to take pictures anymore, I use my iPhone 😉 All depends…sometimes I use the standard camera, and sometimes I use an app called Procam, because the pictures are square (and won’t need cropping for Instagram) and then use other apps to edit (Snapseed is a favorite).

      19. January, 2013 at 05:01

      • it’s all about convenience anymore! i’ve been checking out PureShot so i’ll check out these two as well. have a great weekend!!

        19. January, 2013 at 08:51

  7. Marcie

    What a fun idea – to photograph dinner. For me – it’s gotta be simple…gotta be easy. Just can’t be bothered with too much cooking – y’know??

    19. January, 2013 at 11:53

    • I know exactly what you mean! The easier the better 🙂
      Thanks so much, Marcie.

      19. January, 2013 at 11:59

  8. So hungry reading these delicious food posts during my detox weeks. I love anything barbecued. Even though I don’t usually eat meat have been known to wolf down a barbecued sandwich like the one you posted. Mmm….

    2. February, 2013 at 14:00

    • These ARE good! (And I normally prefer chicken or fish….not as a sandwich like this of course! Although, the chicken might work instead of the pork??)
      Sorry to make you hungry! 😉

      2. February, 2013 at 15:07

  9. It´s very good and delicious. 🙂

    7. February, 2013 at 07:49

Leave a Reply

