crop happens…

2014/002: Guinness Bokeh

A little fun with bokeh before I take our Christmas tree down 😉
I used to not like beer….. tried it as a teenager a few times, but yuck!! (And no worries, it was perfectly legal because I grew up in Germany and you’re allowed to purchase / drink beer and wine when you’re 16)….. then Brian came along and drove me to drinking talked me into trying a Guinness, and much to my surprise I actually liked it! The cans, not the bottles!! (yuck!) That even made hubby happy, and he said that he should thank Brian for getting me to like beer, because now when he stops to pick up a 6-pack for himself, he’ll pick up some Guinness for me and won’t have to say “nothing” when I ask him “what’d you get for me??”

2014-002

12 responses

  1. Nice photo and nice story too. 🙂 Happy New Year to you and your family.!

    2. January, 2014 at 08:08

    • Thank you Birgitte! Happy New Year to you and yours!

      2. January, 2014 at 08:14

  2. Guinness is good for you! I don’t drink it but once a year but as you know I am a beer lover. We took our tree down yesterday, it was dried up and dead and time to go. I’m always a bit sad when it’s gone since the lights are so happy. Happy New Year to you and your family!

    2. January, 2014 at 08:12

    • It is?? I had no idea! All the more reason to drink it then 😉 I don’t drink often either. a 4-pack will usually last me a month or two.
      We have an artificial tree (unfortunately) and I’ll be taking it down on the 6th when the kids are back in school…and pack away the rest of the Christmas decorations, too.
      Happy New Year to you, too, Becky. Always nice to see you pop in here 🙂

      2. January, 2014 at 08:18

  3. Guiness was one of the first beers I liked too. Haven’t had one in a long time. I’ve branched out to liking a few others too – usually fruity ones like Blue Moon or something along those lines. My tree is still up. Have one more Christmas party of sorts on Saturday.

    2. January, 2014 at 09:29

    • Yeah, I’ve tried (and like) a few others, too, mostly porters and a couple of reds. I’ve found a Harvest Red (or Red Harvest??) Guinness that’s really nice.

      2. January, 2014 at 13:18

  4. Nice bokeh. Yum, Guinness. I learned to like beer when I learned how to make it. 🙂

    2. January, 2014 at 15:52

    • But of course! Then you can make beer that you like! 😉
      Thanks so much Robin.

      2. January, 2014 at 18:19

  5. yummy! both Guinness and the bokeh!

    5. January, 2014 at 18:09

  6. LOL!!! pretty bokeh, nothing like a cold beer on a hot day!

    6. January, 2014 at 08:55

    • Hot day?? Not here!! I know this is supposed to be Texas, but this morning was only 12 F and we never made it above freezing!! Brrrr!

      6. January, 2014 at 18:58

Leave a Reply

