crop happens…

2014/081: Photo Ideas

I promised Mikeย on his blog a while back that I would post some of my photo ideas, and I’m finally getting around to it. I had a short list already, but I needed some more ideas…..and I’m still open to suggestions, if anyone has any. As much as I love flowers, I want to photograph other things as well.

2014-081

So here’s what I have so far:
– Water droplets splashing in water (I asked a friend for a challenge and this is what I got… and it’s going to be a challenge!)
– Tilt shift
– Marbles
– (Burning) matches
– Continue my coffee mug series
– Oil & Water macros
– Game pieces / family game night
– Playing cards
– Food photography (possibly with the recipe)

*And no, the little camera in the photo above is not a Canon (I’d never go to the dark side! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), it’s a Couen.

10 responses

  1. Interesting ideas. I’m hoping the arrival of spring will jump start my photo-mojo. I remember playing around with the oil/water/colorful plate idea with extension tubes years ago. It was fun but my eyes started to hurt after trying to focus on it after a while, lol!

    22. March, 2014 at 06:54

    • Thanks Karen. Yes, I think spring (and the opportunity to get out more, nicer light, and being able to find more to photograph) will definitely help.
      I’ve seen the oil/water photos on KD’s blog years ago and have been wanting to try it ever since ๐Ÿ˜‰

      22. March, 2014 at 07:56

  2. azmommarg

    No ideas. You’re already amazing! Just had to lol about the dark side. I had to look high and low for a Nikon miniature ๐Ÿ˜‰

    22. March, 2014 at 11:37

    • Aww, thank you. but I am so NOT! But I try ๐Ÿ˜‰
      If you ever do think of something, please let me know…or I might run out of pictures to post LOL

      22. March, 2014 at 16:38

  3. I’ve been thinking about food photography, too. The problem is that all the good stuff gets cooked for dinner. Food loves natural light and the best natural light in the kitchen happens in the early morning when I’m not awake enough to be preparing beautiful dinners. Maybe I’ll start making beautiful breakfasts. As for other ideas, I subscribe to lists for that because I can’t come up with my own (other than my walks). You already have some good ideas. ๐Ÿ™‚

    22. March, 2014 at 19:15

    • Thank you Robin. I wasn’t necessarily thinking dinner for food photography, but cakes, cookies, etc., because I like baking better than cooking. Breakfast sounds good, too, but I don’t often eat breakfast (or spend time cooking any).

      23. March, 2014 at 18:03

  4. I think your biggest challenge is going to be finally admitting that the “dark side” will always win in the end… Dark is always best… Take Guinness and Dark Chilli Chocolate as two simple examples ๐Ÿ™‚

    23. March, 2014 at 16:08

    • WHAT??!! You’re just bummed cos you made the mistake of buying a Canon instead of a Nikon (which reminds me, that I still need to find something :-D)
      You’re right though….for ONCE!….when it comes to chili chocolate and beer, dark IS better, but NOT when it comes to camera brands. Any smart Nikon user can tell you that ๐Ÿ™‚
      Now go find a sunset to photograph with your sorry-it’s-not-a-Nikon…

      23. March, 2014 at 18:07

  5. I did miss these! Your posts generally show up in my stream so I wonder how they slipped by me. Anyway, really interested in the water/oil concept. I will probably borrow that one from you. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Burning matches are cool but maybe a more challenging image would be capturing the moment the match ignites. ๐Ÿ™‚ You have a great list, I look forward to seeing what you capture. Thanks for pointing these out to me.

    31. March, 2014 at 13:30

    • LOL Borrow all you want ๐Ÿ˜‰ Love the idea of trying to catch the moment when the match ignites….might have to buy matches in bulk! ๐Ÿ˜€

      1. April, 2014 at 18:29

Leave a Reply

