crop happens…

Archive for 10. April, 2011

2011/100: Bonus – The Official wwwp5k

What: Worldwide WordPress 5k
When: Sunday, April 10, 2011
Time: Long before the crack of dawn
Where: A 24-Hour Fitness somewhere north of Dallas, TX

What a week this has been! I found out Monday morning that WordPress was organizing a worldwide 5k, and wanted their bloggers to participate. The official day for this is today, but you could walk/run any day this week. I thought this would be fun, and got my start on Monday, walking an extra mile, and having the (slightly out of focus and shaky) pictures to prove it.

Tuesday I took it a step further and walked 5 miles instead of 5 kilometers, and I challenged my couch potato readers to get off the couch and walk just one mile any day this week. In turn I would walk a 10k one day this week, and dedicate that second 5k to the couch potatoes Only ONE of my readers said that she would take me up on the challenge, hopefully she was able to do it 🙂

Wednesday was the day for my 5k times two, and again, I had the cell phone pictures to prove it.

On Thursday I went to the gym armed with my favorite magazine to help make those miles go by faster. One of the nice things about walking on a treadmill, you can prop up a magazine or book and read while you walk. I would not try this outdoors on a track, jogging track, etc.! I stopped my walk at 5k…. no motivation to walk extra.

Friday was my toughest day. I did not.want.to.be.there! I thought about quitting after every step I took, which makes for a very loooong 3.1 miles (aka. 5k). It didn’t help that I had to wait for a treadmill, and then got one in a less desirable location (no breeze from the air conditioning!). At least I still had my magazine to read, which helped just a little.
That day, Greg walked one mile on the treadmill, taking me up on my challenge, but his walk doesn’t really count, since he makes it to the gym almost every day to work out. He’s only a week-end couch potato 😉

I woke up bright and early on Saturday, and headed to the gym after a quick cup of coffee. It was so early that I had time to walk another 10k and still made it back home before everyone woke up.

This brings us to today, Sunday, April 10, 2011 and the official day for the wwwp5k.
I was up early again, and was at the gym at about 5:20 am. This early on a Sunday is really my favorite time to go, because the place is deserted. You could count the number of cars in the parking lot on one hand! I have my choice of treadmills, and chances are, there won’t be anyone annoying (like popping-bubblegum-bubbles-while-she-walks) next to me.
Today I walked 5k (3.1 miles) at an 18% incline at 3.8 mph….. bringing the GRAND TOTAL of miles walked this week to 30.8!

This was really fun (OK, except maybe on Friday! 😉 ) and just what I needed to get back to the gym regularly again, like I used to. I think WordPress should make this an annual event.


2011/100: Pansy